• Welcome to H4O! For a reduced ad experience, please login or register with the forum.

No drive

hummedout

Thank you for your reply. Your miles are beyond the expected life of the 4L60E Transmission in a heavy FT 4X4 H3 (you/we do not know the history of when/if it was ever rebuilt/replaced) so as I suspected, your Trans needs a rebuild.

I've been driving and H3 continuously since Feb 2007. My current 09 H3 Alpha Off Road has performance and off road mods and has been 100% reliable. If you buy a used 15 year old vehicle with high miles, if the prior owner(s) had no clue what maintenance is about, there is going to be a lot of work to do to make up for age, miles and lack of care. You have started down that path, just keep after it and you will have your daily driver.

Best of luck.
Oh man you just told me my future with this,

Ok I got past the front diff

A cv axle

The h3 had been doing good,wanted to go off-road but hadn't had the chance,it is a dedicated dailt driver,when I'm not in it ,wife is taking it ,

Coming home today I hear this crazy noise and it was losing drive

Pull over n do a fluid check and fluid was ok,motor oil barely touching,
Drive again normal and went to make a left hand turn and it went to neutral,had reverse,tried 4 lock low n hi ,nothing,has reverse and now in third it drives,stoplight and again it neutral,got to second and it makes it home,wtf

Is this a tranny fried ?
Money pitt h3

alrock

El Diablo
Staff member
I saw that you purchased a transfer case, did you replace it? Also, a mechanic said the transmission had failed - has anything been done to address it or corroborate that opinion?

hummedout

No sir I purchased a front differential,
Had a mechanic at a shop put it in.
They called n said it had a bad transmission and said it wouldn't shift outta first gear,
I went and put the shift motor in transfer case the correct way and it was fine.

Worked great for two weeks and last nite it jacked up again,