• Welcome to H4O! For a reduced ad experience, please login or register with the forum.

H3 lift kits in general???

spillKill

hey guys
im new to the 4x4 thing in general and have only had my h3 for about a month.
im planning my first old road adventure soon and i found my self looking at lift kits
but heres my question:
which ones do u get the most bang for your buck?
which company should i stay away from it any?
and could i put one on myself (have worked on cars just nothing big)
also which lift are you guys running and how high and comments on them

thanks!!

LagunaH1

I'm sure there will be lots of feedback to that question. Look a bit at 06 H3's build thread and see what that gives you.

My personal point of view: What type of wheeling do you think you'll be doing? Do you really, truly, need a lift kit? -Nothing against lift kits, but many drivers end up doing wheeling that don't really require the added capability of a lift kit.

spillKill

well the only kind of wheeling around where i live is easy to moderate stuff and im sure i would be fine without it but im looking to just do like 2-3in.

LagunaH1

I'm not trying to talk you out of a lift kit but here's another thing to consider:

You have the 3.5 i5 engine. It's got very limited power. With lift kits, owners often add larger wheels. Larger wheels with a 3.5 is not always a good combination unless you find a way to re-gear. But anyways: I'm sure there will be lots of other feedback and suggestions on this thread.

06 H3

a.k.a. "The Jackal"
I would personally start out with the torsion bar crank and 35 inch tires and if if you are looking for more then I would do a rancho lift. the lift kit is a great kit in my opinion and offers a some added clearance which is a huge plus check out 3 threads the rancho lift review my 06 h3 rancho build and my spring over build thread.