• Welcome to H4O! For a reduced ad experience, please login or register with the forum.

Things I'd Like To Do and Questions Before I Start

Gadsden

Howdy everyone, I joined yesterday and spent the majority of the day checking out build threads. Looks like there's a really great community here, so I'm grateful to be a part!

I own a 2008 H3 Base. Silver. I've owned it since last November, and I'm just getting started doing any mods.

I recently changed:

Exterior:
Blow torched the faded windshield pillars to put the color back in them.
Control Arms
Shocks
Tie rods
Ball Joints
Tires

Interior:
Changed Radio to a Pioneer AVH2550NEX with CarPlay
Tinted Windows

What's next? I'd like to black out the mirrors, door handles. Which leads me to my question.

What are guys using successfully? What I'm looking for is something that's not going to wear off easily, and will last. I've seen plenty of videos of guys just spraying on bed liner or plasti-dip. What I don't know is, whether or not those solutions last the test of time.

If you've done it, are you scuffing the chrome mirrors first?

I'm also torn between whether or not to black out the grill or get it color matched to the silver? Thoughts?

I know this question has probably been asked ad nauseam on the forum, but it's difficult to find any details on the process (for a newb anyway).

Thanks!

HummerH3.jpeg

Jeepwalker

Black-out?! Wow, it looks so nice as is!

:no: I guess we all have different things. Some guys here have made significant black-out mods though.

BTW, welcome to the forum!

alrock

El Diablo
Staff member
You can get black Dorman door handles on Rockauto for about $16 each. For the mirrors and grill, I'd scuff, use some plastic primer and finish as you wish. Color matched would look good.

Jeepwalker

Pretty sure you can take the chrome off the mirrors. Seems like I saw some youtube video. Then sell the chrome parts on ebay.

H3V8