• Welcome to H4O! For a reduced ad experience, please login or register with the forum.

Tire Rotation

Gunner_45

Super Moderator
Staff member
OK, at the risk of sounding like a total newb, I have to ask:

How many of you guys add your spare into your tire rotation.

Way back when I bought my first set of MTR’s, the dealer cautioned me
about not adding the spare into the rotation, as the small difference in
tire diameter between the spare and the other tires could have a detrimental
effect on the drivetrain of the H3. Something about it being full time 4X4.

Seems like I heard that elsewhere as well and just never really questioned it.

Soooooo……fast forward to yesterday.

Just Swapped out a set of well used 12.50X33 Swampers for a set of Good Year MTR’s W/K in 12.50X35.

(Yes, Steve #1……That is the ripple in the force that you felt about 10:00 a.m.) --- 8^)

The four ground tires had lost whatever road manners they ever possessed and were fairly well worn….40K by best guess.

However, the spare had never been on the ground. Seems like such a waste.

Just curious what the general consensus is amongst you guys.

Last edited:

Gunner_45

Super Moderator
Staff member
I can't see how there would be much difference between a tire that is a couple of

pounds off air pressure-wise and one that has a tad less tread. At least when it comes

to the over all diameter of your rolling stock. Lord knows I have NEVER seen all of my tires

read the same pressure at any given check interval......always a pound or three difference.

Green 1

Matty Patty Pookie Bear
Next time you put new tires on measure them before they are ever on the truck. They will never be the same. I think the intent is to keep them as close as possible but it is impossible with all of the outside factors.

alrock

El Diablo
Staff member