• Welcome to H4O! For a reduced ad experience, please login or register with the forum.

Oil in spark plugs

motoreese

I am new at working on Hummers, mine is a 2006 H3 i5. Yesterday is was shuddering at idle and after some research I decided to do a tune up and clean the mass air flow intake. Changed the air filter to a K&N, cleaned air sensor near the air box, took off the air intake and cleaned the mass air flow intake. I also changed the spark plugs and put new coil covers on. While changing out the plugs there was oil on top of the plugs. When I took the plugs out the threads were covered in oil. I am thinking the valve cover gasket needs to be changed but I wanted to know what everyone thinks. Thanks for any help.
49f1f3bd2bff020eed883defb44eabf1.jpg
27ebb6efa58151b98d182ffa2a570105.jpg

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

deserth3

What does the other side of the throttle body look like?
These trucks are known to suck up oil through that crack case ventilation tube. If there is oil coming out of the tube into the intake simplest fix is to add a pcv valve.
There are baffels in the valve cover that is supposed to prevent this. But they don't always work well.

Sent from my LG-H700 using Tapatalk

motoreese

What does the other side of the throttle body look like?
These trucks are known to suck up oil through that crack case ventilation tube. If there is oil coming out of the tube into the intake simplest fix is to add a pcv valve.
There are baffels in the valve cover that is supposed to prevent this. But they don't always work well.

Didn't get a picture of the other side. It was not as dirty. Maybe 25% of this side.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

motoreese

Check your pcv tubing.

94a87072b9f399b3fd9f22053b0e5b53.jpg

I checked the tubing under this air box. There was no oil build up, tube was secure, not cracked or brittle.

There is no oil dripping onto engine and I have not gotten any oil burning smell.

motoreese